Before It’s Too Late

 

A little history:

I never knew my real father. I knew who he was, but he left my mother shortly after I was born. My mother married again when I was ten. My stepdad was a man’s man and although uncomfortable at times he made me a man too. However, this is about my relationship with my mother.

My younger years:

My mother was not rich by any stretch of the imagination, but she did things to enjoy life.

She went camping, fishing, hunting, boating and many other things to enjoy their time.

When my stepdad drank too much she would do her best to stay out of his way.

However, there were times she and I would sit on the front steps which was just short of leaving.

She wouldn’t leave because she knew I needed a dad.

Looking back on it, I think we were our own team.

However, her avoiding fights helped me find solutions.

 

Communication:

I can’t remember one argument between my mother and I.

There were hugs and words of love.

She supported me in everything I did.

When she didn’t agree with my direction, she provided her opinion, but let me make my decisions.

When I made the wrong choices in marriage, she once again didn’t destroy those relationships.

Money was tight in her house, but she always found a way to provide a solution to my family needs.

I respected her and came to realize the sacrifices she made for me.

I knew she was fragile and I didn’t want to do anything to jeopardize our bubble.

I moved out of state and she realized if she wanted to see me more, they would need to move closer.

 

My point:

Respect your mother.

Never yell at her.

Never argue with her.

Respect her opinion and learn from it.

She gave you something nobody else could – your life.

There are many signs of her love, don’t miss them.

Show her love and say words of love and not hate.

When she doesn’t expect it, give her a long-lasting hug.

Flowers, cards and presents are not as powerful as a loving relationship.

Set an example for others by how you think of her and how you treat her.

 

Closing:

My mother passed while I was heading to the hospital to see her.

When I got there my step-dad said she was gone. He meant to say she had passed.

She couldn’t hear my words of love one last time – It Was Too Late.

 

Before it is too late – I suggest you make up for any lost time.

About Dick C Waters

Five published novels in the Scott Tucker series, and one short-story anthology. One romance novel published under Dixie Waters. Born in Boston Massachusetts Attended NorthEastern University Now Retired - Forty Plus Years in Computer Manufacturing/Distribution Former Real Estate Broker - MA Former PMI Certified Project Manager Several Director Level Positions Enjoy Reading and Writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

