Indies Unlimited Flash Fiction Winning Story – “Saving Her Bacon”

Here is my winning story and the potential links to the announcement –

Saving Her Bacon
by Dick Waters

Funny all these years and I never gave that last meal a thought until now.

Things flashed through my mind; getting my step dad to kick my butt instead of Mom’s. Her leaving him, and my leaving school that same day headed in a different direction.

Years later on a long-haul, I met Sandy at the ‘Sanitary’ diner. She didn’t know it, but I would drive miles out of my way to see her face light up when I came in. I wanted to be with her forever, and I think she could sense it, but I loved her too much to burden her with me.

That last day she had two black eyes. She reminded me of my mom and what she endured. Her hands were shaking when she served me my hamburger. I asked what happened and she started crying.

Then she looked over my shoulder at the big dude who stormed in. The lights went out and there was a gunshot. When the lights came back on, the big dude was missing the back of his head. I had the gun in my hand and they arrested me.

I tried not to think about whether I was going to hell, but in my heart I knew I earned something better. My mom would be proud of me. I don’t have any regrets about taking the gun from Sandy’s shaking hand.

My only regret is I should have ordered bacon on that hamburger.

Indies Unlimited Winning Announcement Sept 7, 2012

http://www.indiesunlimited.com/2012/09/07/congrats-to-our-weekly-flash-fiction-winner-dick-waters/

About Dick C Waters

Five published novels in the Scott Tucker series, and one short-story anthology. One romance novel published under Dixie Waters. Born in Boston Massachusetts Attended NorthEastern University Now Retired - Forty Plus Years in Computer Manufacturing/Distribution Former Real Estate Broker - MA Former PMI Certified Project Manager Several Director Level Positions Enjoy Reading and Writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

