Indies Unlimited Flash Fiction Winning Story – “Old Glory – New Mission”

Here is my winning story and the potential links to the announcement –

Old Glory – New Mission
by Dick Waters

I nervously spied out my window. Billy Love, my neighbor’s grandson, had the banned US flag draped across his shoulders.

He’s going to be shot.

The sight of the flag brought back memories of my family fighting in WWII to defend what it stood for. Billy’s father was a Marine who was killed in Afghanistan.

Twenty years ago the terrorists took down the towers in NYC. Who knew it was only a hint of what was in store for our country. They took over our country from the inside out. We were so stupid; putting up external defenses including wars in foreign lands, only to have the president and most of congress have five word names. What a shame we lost the silent war.

I can now remember what woke me from my afternoon nap. I heard taps being played, along with the thump of a drum beating like a loud heart beat.

Billy was standing in front of the sign, which warned anyone displaying the flag of the United States would be shot on sight.

The news crews must have been alerted to his plan as they were assembled along the curb. I could hear the now familiar sound of military vehicles closing in.

Tears soon reinforced that this was going to be the start of taking our country back.

I put my glasses on and read the spray painted words next to Billy.
“All I dare hope is that if, in executing this task…”

Indies Unlimited Winning Announcement July 6, 2012

http://www.indiesunlimited.com/2012/07/06/week-27-flash-fiction-challenge-winner-dick-waters/

About Dick C Waters

Five published novels in the Scott Tucker series, and one short-story anthology. One romance novel published under Dixie Waters. Born in Boston Massachusetts Attended NorthEastern University Now Retired - Forty Plus Years in Computer Manufacturing/Distribution Former Real Estate Broker - MA Former PMI Certified Project Manager Several Director Level Positions Enjoy Reading and Writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

