Indies Unlimited Flash Fiction Winning Story – “Loco Location”

Here is my winning story and potential links to the announcement –

Loco Location
by Dick Waters

However, that’s not the worst part.

Our dog is spending afternoons next door. Suzy is our Queensland Heeler mix pet dog. Given the chance she will herd anything that moves. However, she has been acting strangely recently and she has gained considerable weight.

The vet confirmed her weight increased thirty pounds. The vet’s comment was that it isn’t fat, but muscle mass. She was curious and asked what I was feeding her. I didn’t lie when I told her she was snacking on things lately.

What I didn’t tell her was that she was snacking next door on who knows what? I see some very strange animals next door. One of them, resembling a Rhino, even helps Suzy to get into her pen. I couldn’t believe my eyes the first time I saw this strange relationship. Now, I watch with amusement as Suzy digs on our side of the fence and Tiny paws at the other.

Once on the other side, Suzy herds Tiny in the direction of the barn. Later, Tiny heads back toward the hole with Suzy trailing and moving much slower.

I’ve done a check on my neighbors and learned they are genetic scientists studying human-growth hormones. It was reported they were using small wild boars for their experiments.

Now, when I ask Suzy if she wants her supper, instead of barking, she rolls and snorts instead.

I wonder two things; what she is snacking on, and whether they will report their study results.

Loco Location

Indies Unlimited Winning Announcement July 27, 2012

http://www.indiesunlimited.com/2012/07/27/congrats-to-dick-waters-this-weeks-winner-in-the-flash-fiction-challenge/

About Dick C Waters

Five published novels in the Scott Tucker series, and one short-story anthology. One romance novel published under Dixie Waters. Born in Boston Massachusetts Attended NorthEastern University Now Retired - Forty Plus Years in Computer Manufacturing/Distribution Former Real Estate Broker - MA Former PMI Certified Project Manager Several Director Level Positions Enjoy Reading and Writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

