Indies Unlimited Flash Fiction Winning Story – “Gullible”

Here is my winning story and the potential links to the announcement –

Gullible
by Dick Waters
It was a cold winter day and the convertible was not holding the heat.Dad said he would return in just a few minutes, and did what Mom said he never did—ask someone for directions.

It was late afternoon. I was hungry. Everyone knows teenagers never stop eating. I looked and found the only thing left—a box of animal crackers.

That lonely seagull looked cold and hungry too. What harm would it be to give him a cracker?

I rolled the window down slightly throwing a cracker towards him. He jumped on it instantly with wings spread. He downed the treat in just a second. He took two hops closer to the car and gave me three loud thanks.

I rolled the window down and threw him another cracker. Two white blurs flew past, one of them catching it in mid air. This was a game. Now I wondered which gull was smarter.

Soon, I was getting dizzy, unable to count the gulls. Many were now on the car hood. I threw the box of crackers and watched the resulting feeding frenzy.

Then, there was a loud rush of wings with a deafening screech of a hundred hungry gulls; they were diving at the windows. I heard the sound of drums overhead. I looked up to see several holes with yellow beaks.

Dad was running towards the car and yelling, but I couldn’t hear him. I’m glad.

“Dad is there such a thing as being gullible?”

Indies Unlimited Winning Announcement Sept 28, 2012

http://www.indiesunlimited.com/2012/09/28/dick-waters-wins-flash-fiction-challenge/

About Dick C Waters

Five published novels in the Scott Tucker series, and one short-story anthology. One romance novel published under Dixie Waters. Born in Boston Massachusetts Attended NorthEastern University Now Retired - Forty Plus Years in Computer Manufacturing/Distribution Former Real Estate Broker - MA Former PMI Certified Project Manager Several Director Level Positions Enjoy Reading and Writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

