Indies Unlimited Flash Fiction Winning Story – “Come About”

Here is my winning story and the potential links to the announcement –

Come About
by Dick C. Waters

“We’re going on vacation, and this year you’re going. Sorry, there’s no pet resort this year.” Do they know how annoying they are? I was looking forward to seeing my friends.

I’ve been dreading this ‘boat day’ for weeks. ‘Salt spray on my snout and the undulation of the ship on the waves.’ This is not going to be a vacation for me at all. Besides, didn’t they notice I’m not a ‘water dog’?

They have been using words I’ve never heard before; headings, mast, sail, jib, port, starboard, stern, and many others. I’m not waiting; I’m going to be sea sick.

I should have broken my leg again, so I couldn’t go. Even a kennel offers more than this sailing adventure. It’s too late now. Besides, that cast and the helmet thing were terrible.

Let me think, there were some words I think I recognized. ‘Bow’ – I can bow. ‘Set Sail’ – I know how to sit. ‘Stay’ – yup, I know that too. ‘Running’ – I love to run. ‘Wake’ – every day. ‘Roll’ – I roll for biscuits. ‘Coast Guard’ – I might be small, but I guard the house. ‘Poop Deck’ – I’m a natural at that. ‘Captain and Mate’ – MATE…that’s very interesting. Maybe there will be a Poodle, or two, on that French island.

I can see it now – Mr. Pish (aka Sea Dog) meets She Dog. Maybe this will be more fun than I expected. I better not let them see my tail wagging like this.

Indies Unlimited Winning Announcement Aug 3, 2012

http://www.indiesunlimited.com/2012/08/03/flash-fiction-winner-dick-c-waters/

About Dick C Waters

Five published novels in the Scott Tucker series, and one short-story anthology. One romance novel published under Dixie Waters. Born in Boston Massachusetts Attended NorthEastern University Now Retired - Forty Plus Years in Computer Manufacturing/Distribution Former Real Estate Broker - MA Former PMI Certified Project Manager Several Director Level Positions Enjoy Reading and Writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

