YOU DID IT FOR ME

A letter from home.
Well, this is to you Dad. For others reading this; this is to Clif Waters, from me, his son Dick Waters.

When I was young it was hard to tell you, that you were wrong. Well, I’m old enough that I can get away with saying it now…’Dad, you were wrong.’

Don’t panic, this is not a bad letter. However, it’s time to set the record straight.

Well, this is to you Dad. For others reading this; this is to Clif Waters, from me, his son Dick Waters.

When I was young it was hard to tell you, that you were wrong. Well, I’m old enough that I can get away with saying it now…’Dad, you were wrong.’

When I was growing up there were many opportunities to learn new things. The list is endless. They included; how to play ping pong, how to throw darts, how to ride a bicycle, how to fish, how to hit a baseball, how to bowl, how to ice skate, how to shoot a hockey puck, how to shoot a gun, how to hunt, and even how to drive a car. I could go on and on.

Every step of the way you were there, telling me, ‘You couldn’t do it for me.’

I can still remember some of the pain of falling off my bicycle, trying to learn to ride, and you telling me, “Dick, try it one more time…but I can’t do it for you.” I can remember falling down on the ice, as you forced me to learn how to ice skate. Once again your words, “Dick, do it one more time…but I can’t do it for you.”

I heard those words often, ’I can’t do it for you.’

However, there’s a common thread in all of my learning…you were there for me.

And Dad, that’s where you were wrong – listen closely, ‘YOU did, do it, for me!’

About Dick C Waters

Five published novels in the Scott Tucker series, and one short-story anthology. One romance novel published under Dixie Waters. Born in Boston Massachusetts Attended NorthEastern University Now Retired - Forty Plus Years in Computer Manufacturing/Distribution Former Real Estate Broker - MA Former PMI Certified Project Manager Several Director Level Positions Enjoy Reading and Writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

