The Joy of Life

Introduction of ‘The Joy of Life’

Ever wonder what others do about fond memories of past loves?

Although I loved Katie, she was the daughter of a dear friend. I loved her from a distance…one of many that loved her and tried to help her fight her battle with cancer.

This is a true story of what her husband does to honor the memory of his past love.

Please consider this story for publication for many reasons, but when this action was told to me by my friend, I immediately wrote this story and sent it to her to honor her daughter’s memory.

What feelings arise if I allow myself to be fully open to remembering that person?

Katie battled a painful cancer and she still sang despite the pain. I too had some cancers, but although I didn’t sing dealing with the cancers…the memory of her handling her devastating cancer helped me put my own in perspective. Her battle makes me appreciate each day just that much more…’life is short.’

What is it about that special someone that you still cherish?

Katie loved singing and she loved life. I put a high value on how she dealt with her battle, what she did when she thought she licked it, and how she and her husband Dean were a ‘love-team’ through the ups and the downs.

In particular, how did that person’s presence in my life change me and how I experience the world?

I met Katie only once. It was a chance meeting at a class reunion. Her mother brought Katie and we talked quite a long time about personal values. I liked her and she liked me. We conversed by email later when I learned she had developed cancer. I tried to give her hope that she could beat the disease. I always liked life, but even I appreciate life so much more knowing how short it is and how you need to enjoy life every day. That’s why I titled this story ‘The Joy of Life.’

I wrote this to honor her; however it brings tears to my eyes every time I read it. Maybe this love story if published will have others appreciate what they have.

_______________

It was a happy time. It was their anniversary and the cancer was in remission. The pain and the painful memories were now gone. It was a time to celebrate life.

It took a twenty to bribe the piano player to play ‘Sweet Caroline.’ He did it, but this establishment was not the usual place for a Neil Diamond song.

However, there was something special in the young lady’s eyes, and they couldn’t say no.

After a few beats everyone was singing along and her voice was leading them all. For those that loved her; this was a great feeling, and an answer to many prayers. They had fought like their own lives depended on it.

To celebrate the wonderful time the couple bought everyone a drink. Many didn’t know the real reason why such a gift was made, but they will always remember the night a different song was played.

The rest of the story is that Katie was a ‘want to be singer.’ She was always singing, even during the cancer’s pain. She sang so well, that God must have heard her. Yes, you guessed it…the cancer didn’t go away, but it came back even worse. She lost that battle, but we’re sure she’s in God’s choir.

Now, on their anniversary, he comes to have the piano player play ‘Sweet Caroline’ and he remembers the wonderful young lady in his life. The patrons will remember the night a wonderful lady named Katie, sang with the joy of life.

About Dick C Waters

Five published novels in the Scott Tucker series, and two short-story anthologies. One romance novel published under Dixie Waters. Born in Boston Massachusetts Attended NorthEastern University Now Retired - Forty Plus Years in Computer Manufacturing/Distribution Former Real Estate Broker - MA Former PMI Certified Project Manager Several Director Level Positions Enjoy Reading and Writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment