Sometime Wrong Way…Right Way!

Title: Fortune cookie say…’sometime wrong way right way!’

Don’t ask me how I saw it. Don’t ask me why I’m doing this. I don’t know the answers. All I know is that I’m breaking several laws.

I think it was the young woman with the red hair who caught my attention, I can’t be sure. I guess redheads have special significance. My mom had red hair, but it fell out after the start of her Chemo treatments. Now all that’s left are the memories and my red hair.

Why the hell am I thinking about her at this time?

I know the answer to that. She would kill me if she saw what I was doing. That’s because she doesn’t know the real reason I’m breaking these laws.

They say just before you die your life flashes in front of you. I guess I could die, but if I’m not successful in the next few minutes someone else might.

Am I really doing this, or is it a dream? I’ve had those dreams where you attend school and you realize you forgot your shoes, or worse you’re naked. Those dreams are not to be confused with the times you really were naked for some stupid dare, or just because you thought it would be cool. Just like the time I streaked the high school cheer practice. Well, that did get me an unexpected date for that weekend’s dance.

Shit…if anyone saw the smile on my face they would think I’m a crazy fool. I’m sure the last group of people on the sidewalk was much too busy diving out of the way to really pay any attention to my face. Thank God this sidewalk was wide enough for them to get out of the way.

I wish my horn worked, but the roar of my V8 was doing a good job.

The ‘Wrong Way’ sign put even a bigger smile on my face. You don’t need a sign to tell you everything is coming towards you, except those folks in front of me. However, those folks are going in my direction and look much too involved in something to hear my approach.

I quickly counted back from ten to make sure I wasn’t dreaming. I needed to make sure all of this made sense.

I was headed south on Washington street when for some reason I looked at the apartment building. I saw a man working on the plants on his balcony. He was moving a large pot. No, he was not moving it…he was lifting it. He was placing it on the railing and studying people on the sidewalk. He’s going to drop it onto someone walking below. That’s when I noticed the young lady with the red hair walking towards his building. I’m sure he spotted her too.

I bent over the steering wheel to confirm he was still on his balcony. I could barely see him. Now, I’m not so sure it’s what I originally saw. There was something up on the fourth floor balcony, but I couldn’t be sure any longer what it was.

It’s too late now.

I slammed on the brakes and heard the squeal of the tires on the brick walk. I was still moving forward and the people who looked like candlepins turned to see my Mustang sliding towards them. The redhead was indeed more beautiful than I anticipated…even with her shocked look and wide eyes. In one motion she picked up the youngster near her and dove out of the way.

I stomped on the gas and noticed the traffic all stopped and a police car with flashing lights trying to get through the log jamb. I was almost at the apartment building just a few more feet. Seconds later, I slammed on the brakes and slid to a stop in front of the concrete building.

I thought of putting down the roof to look up to see if he was still there.

The sound of the planter crashing through the top made me duck. The car shook as the large planter crumpled the back seat. Fabric from the top slapped me across the back of the head. I wondered for a quick second if it wasn’t my dad making another point with his hands.

I looked up at the balcony to see a very large man shaking his fist and yelling something I couldn’t understand. He moved quickly out of sight, but then reappeared with another large pot. He lifted it and looked right at me. I dove out of the Mustang just as the planter crashed through the windshield.

I could see the brick walk rising toward my face and several cops running in my direction. Then everything went black.

*.*.*

When I opened my eyes I was on my back looking at a cloudy sky and bare branches. It wasn’t a dream after all.

“He’s going to be alright. He’ll have a whopper of a headache and should be watched for the next twenty-four hours,” the paramedic said to someone beside him. I turned to see the redhead kneeling beside me.

“Whatever made you drive your car the wrong way up the sidewalk? You could have killed several people.”

“I guess I liked the color of your hair.”

She smiled. “Well, your car is in worse shape than you. You’ll be happy to know, my dad does custom car work and I’m sure we owe you something for possibly saving all our lives. I’m sure he would be happy to bring your car back to life. How else can I ever repay you?”

“You can tell me your name.”

“It’s Ruth.”

“Hello Ruth. It’s really nice to meet you.” It really wasn’t a dream after all. Well, the fortune cookie said I was going to meet someone from my past. Who knew she was going to have my mom’s name.

“Do you have anyone to watch you for the next twenty-four hours?”

I smiled. “I didn’t until now.”

About Dick C Waters

Five published novels in the Scott Tucker series, and one short-story anthology. One romance novel published under Dixie Waters. Born in Boston Massachusetts Attended NorthEastern University Now Retired - Forty Plus Years in Computer Manufacturing/Distribution Former Real Estate Broker - MA Former PMI Certified Project Manager Several Director Level Positions Enjoy Reading and Writing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

